Click here if you are having website access problems ×

CYCLE WINGS

DAX MAN

I HAVE JUST PURCHASED A 96N VAUXHALL 16V CATERHAM WITH LONG WINGS. I WISH TO CHANGE THESE TO CYCLE WINGS. WHATS INVOLVED AND WHAT WILL IT COST ME. ALSO WHAT DO YOU DO WITH THE HOLES IN THE SIDE PANELS.

I ALSO NEED A LSD FOR THE SAME VEHICLE ANY IDEAS.

I'M NEW TO THIS SO PLEASE HELP.

IAN

Ian

I've converted mine , so has a mate , you would never know they've been flaired wings .

The greatest expense is the fillig and spraying the holes in and may be the steering rack (you will probably have to change it as you really need lock stops so as the cycle wings don't hit the body. Also go to the 7 gallery site (the constructor of the site has converted his , pics to see) which I can vouch for as a super job. The work was carried out by CAM Panel Works from POOLE DORSET, ask for CLIVE .

CHRIS

REAL SEVENS HAVE IRON B'LOCKS

Ian

The wings are £32 each, Wing stays £42.50 each, Headlamp brackets £20 each, all plus vat and postage which is about a tenner.I love them now there on.

If you go back 10 days I posted a queerie on quick rack steering and cycle wings that you may glean a little info on. I found no problems fitting both of these and the cost from Caterham for Wings related brackets 22% q/r upper column and momo removable (which you don't have to have) was £723. Setting the toe in is a garage job - Caterham quote 20 minuets toe in plus or minus 10 minuets

The holes left from the clamshells come free!

Hope that helps a little.

Regards

Tom

PS

If you do get a steering rack Caterham quote £166 + vat.

You might consider The quick rack systems, which come in 8% and 22%. I've just fitted the 22%.. Some don't like them as they say it makes the steering heavy but this is only at parking etc. I personally don't find it a problem and as for blatting about it's excellent.

And thanks to all those who replied and helped with my questions on this subject.

Cheers

Tom

Ian