Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Late night panic... Alternator query...

Morls

I've spent tonight fitting, removing and refitting an alternator after the old one stopped charging and the redlight on the dash was on dull'ly all the time.

With the Halfrauds exchange item fitted the light is now on as bright as can be.

I've double checked the connections and they're OK (I'm a spark by trade so should be OK at fitting wires).

In desperation I tried a test lamp (Caterham wing repeater smile.gif ) across the live terminal and earth... wthout the battery connected there was nada nilch nowt there.

Basically I'm confused.gif.

Could these things need a battery voltage across them to "exite" the gubbinsquestion.gif

It's not on the seven but on Karens (crossflow 1300) Festa.

It has one live wire and one (alternator light from zener diode?) smaller wire.

Double thanks in advance for any help.

Mark

Thanks Fred thumbsup.gif

I've got no fused bit visible?

The battery to alternator main red wire goes: Battery>Starter Solenoid>Alternator.

The other small wire comes out of the loom near the Alternator.

Oh bu**er... Still confused.gif

Mark

Mark,

First check the engine earth strap. You might get this odd symptom if the alternator casing is not earthing back to the battery -ve.

The connection overview is as follows:

The thick wire as you say should have continuity to the battery +ve

The casing of the alt should be at earth.

The small wire that drives the warning lamp (this is the small wire on the alternator) drives one side of the warning lamp, the other side of the warning lamp is conneted to battery +ve (via the ign switch)

When the alternator is not turning, the output on the small wire is a slightly resisitve earth so the lamp has a feed from the battery on one side and a slight resistance to earth on the other, hence it lights.