Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

5 speed box replacement

steve and casper

Ivre been offered a type 9 (rocket)box which im considering putting in my 4 speed live axle 07 supersprint.Its off a westy.The ratios are different as follows

4 speed 1st 2.39 to 1/2nd 1.69 to 1/3rd 1.34 to 1/4th 1 to 1

Proposed 5 speed 1st 3.65 to 1/2nd 1.97 to 1/3rd 1.37 to 1/4th 1 to 1/5th 0.82 to 1

Apart from the obvious question as in Is this a straight swap?.It will help at the top end and give a longer first?,which would be of use in my proposed first season at sprints/hillclimbs.

Am I right in these assumptons and there any other points that i should consider before the transplant ??

Any help on this would be much appreciated as im a novice in the confusing world of Caterhams

Steve

Not quite a straight swap. Yes the gearbox bolts up to the engine OK, but it's a longer box and the mounting is different -I believe someone provides a mounting conversion kit - mentioned in Low Flying and provides funds to Nuke The Leuke.

You may need a new mainshaft bearing in the end of the crankshaft .

You will need a new propshaft - gearbox splines and legth different.

Not sure if cluch driven plate needs to change - but wise to renew it anyway.

Box is also heavier - can't remember how much - but you can buy an alloy bellhousing 😬

If I've got anything wrong I'm sure another poster will point it out *cool*

I used to have a bit of software that told you how changes of gearing would affect the car - can't find it now ☹️

Be careful, the box You need is from an XR4i which has a longer shaft than a normal type 9. This is required to put the gear lever far enough back. It also needs a spacer between box and engine, a different speedo cable is also needed as well as peviously mentioned parts.

Cheers John

JFDI

(Just F*****g Do It)

• Area Representative

Steve,

It will help at the top end and give a longer first?

Yes and No respectively.