Click here if you are having website access problems ×

unsprung weight ?

Phil

So I take it that the lower the weight of these components the quicker acting the suspension reterning

the wheel to the road hence better handeling, braking and grip.

Does this mean that harder springs do the same thing at the same time reducing body roll simular to fitting gas struts rather than oil.

Not really Phil. I'm no expert on this, but in laymans terms the suspension settings only control the way that the sprung weight is managed.

The unsprung weight is by definition not cushioned or acted upon by anything you can alter and so is free to pull the chassis around as it wants. This is bad, obviously because it increases inertia and makes the car less responsive.

Unsprung mass is especially bad when it is rotating, unsprung mass - ie wheels!! because the spinning action acts like a centrifuge and makes the weight effectively more than it really is, by a lot. Hence the lightweight wheel argument!

I'm sure somebody like PC or Arnie can explain this much better!

Also worth pointing out that unsprung weight should be viewed with the perspective of the car that it is on. A wheel/tyre/brake combo that may be fine on a porche will not be fine on a seven because it will be a much bigger percentage of the overall weight of the car.

the unsprung weight should be a very small percentage of the overall weight.

You should watch the Christmas Lectures on the BBC. They showed unsprung/sprung weight a few years ago using planets as models. For example, take a planet and put in orbit a large moon (Earth is a particularly good example). As the Moon revolves around the Earth the Earth also revolves around the Moon, although the circle described by the Earth is very much smaller than that described by the Moon due to the differences in mass.