Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

1.6 K-Series LHD SS 1)exhaust options 2) dry sump

Panagiotis-Marina

Hi everone. This is my first post in TechTalk so please bear with me. I've searched the archives but still can't really get an answer.

I currently have the standard CC exhaust (short primiries, side exit, integrated cat) and a wet sump with oil cooler. I'll be upgrading sometime in the future (not sure just yet if I'll go to 1.8 or DTB). I would like to start by replacing the exhaust to a 4-2-1 with cat and a dry sump since I go to the track whenever possible.

1) What options do I have for the exhaust? What gains should I expect (bhp, torque)?

2) Browsed through the CC parts site but cant seem to find a dry sump kit per se. Is there one that CC provides?

3) Could it possibly be the oil air separator kit -part# ACOT04? (...so you haven't guessed wrong, I'm not technically inclined )

4) Does an Apollo tank provide equivalent engine protection?

Insight, comments, pointers etc much appreciated.

/p

Welcome!

Does an Apollo tank provide equivalent engine protection?

No. The apollo is an air/oil separator does not provide oil surge protection like a dry sump, but helps prevent bearing damage from aerated oil in a wet sumped K series. Essential addition for track work, if you do not fit a dry sump system. However it would require an alternate site and oil pipes for LHD.

malcolm

You won't get huge gains from just an exhaust alone, all though it should make it happier to build the revs quicker. There are two types of exhaust, 4-1 and 4-2-1.

the 4-1 gives better gains at high revs, and the 4-2-1 gives a better gain in torque low down.

The 4-2-1 exhaust needs the 4-2-1 section replacing with a 4-1 cat section if you want to run a catalytic convertor.