Click here if you are having website access problems ×

S1 at H&H auction

MusCat

Yes - the title says "1958/197 Lotus 7" - I think they forgot the "1" after the "197".

I have no knowledge of this car but a history such as, raced, dumped in barn, resurrected and registered for the road, would not appear that unusual.

From 7faq

Series 1:

Chassis Numbers 400-499 built at Hornsey

Chassis Numbers 750-892 built at Cheshunt

The gap in the sequence can be confusing. Numbers 500-553 were Elevens, and numbers 600-615 were Fifteens. Apparently some numbers between 750 and 892 were used for Formula Junior cars

Chassis number on auction car (JMH71) doesn't seem to match this? The 71 I would guess is the year it was made and Mr JMH probably assembled the car in 71 but it seems the original chassis number may be missing?

Edited by - Alex Wong on 30 Oct 2007 16:30:31

Quite simply, it is NOT a series one.

however they would like to dress it up, this is not what they say. You cannot re register a car and give it an identity that makes it seem YOUNGER than it really is. So in other words, if it were ever a series one, you could not possibly re register it on a newer number plate. Apart from having a different body and reg year from a series one, it could still be afun car to own though.

Mike C

No longer K9 JPE

Mike, what you say is correct, in as much that since the mid-80's that as been the rule. However before that if my memory is correct, it was possible to put a newer number on a car that had on been previously registered in this country. A few friends would import cars and they always came with current reg' numbers.

Having said all that I doubt that this is a genuine series 1, but as you say, I'm sure it would be a lot of fun owning it, at the right price.

R600 VX here