Click here if you are having website access problems ×

What manuals do I need for maintaining a 1995 VXi?

Steve Kirk

I have a 1995 VXi (aka to some as an HPC injection) which I bought second hand. In terms of maintenance I have some past experience and so will take on most jobs as long as I have the relevant info. However I did not inherit the Caterham build manual with the car, so in terms of manuals I only have the small A5 owners manual which doesn't have the details I'm looking for when it comes to maintenance (e.g. no info on how to change rear disks).

Can anyone recommend what manuals I should get? I had in mind perhaps the Caterham build manual (which I've never seen so am not sure how complete it is), or maybe Haynes manuals? Does anyone know which Haynes manuals I would need - I realise that more than one "donor" is involved, I've heard Sierra/Herald/Cortina/Astra all mentioned as possibles, but not sure which models, and whether it's worth getting them all, or whether the Caterham manual covers all the necessary....?

Thanks,

Steve Kirk.

Thanks Paul.

I just called Caterham but apparently the build manuals that they now sell do not cover my car (1995 VXi), and the one that I need is no longer available. They suggest that I find an old one for my car and copy it.

Would anyone be prepared to either sell me an old one that they no longer need, or to lend me one so that I can copy it please?

Steve.

Odd advice from Caterham in that they print Copyright warnings all over them.

I'm pretty sure that the manuals suit all the cars built at the time. Certainly my 94 manual covers all the K Series, Vauxhall & X-flow models made at that time.

Where are you?

Go to a local meet - there's bound to be someone there that will assist you in providing one to copy.