Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Windscreen V aeroscreen

pie_boy69

I have just got a new seven and this one has a screen fitted but has only got half doors and the end result is to much wind buffeting.

I would like to know how well the aeroscreen JPE, R500 work and do they push the air up high enough, the windshield makes my sunglasses come of at anything over 120MPH, I have no seat in my car so I sit fairley low down but my pasengers are quite often tall, The other thing is how well do the sheet metal holes fill over in that do you have to tig or glue plats on the under sire to get the filler to stick when covering up the wiper holes.

Last thing where is the cheapest place to get one from.

Keith Pickering

superlight T7 KCP

Keith,

The buffetting will almost vanish once you get rid of the windscreen. I've been using aeros for a few years now, and they are great. They do push most stuff over your head (adjust the angle to suite yourself), but stones, large insects etc can still hurt. You need good eye protection, a full face helmet is ideal when the weather gets a bit cool or it rains/hails/snows. Passengers learn to keep their heads down PDQ.

Plus you get an increase in top speed, but you need to use your brakes a bit more.

Hi Keith. What car do you end up getting then.

Go on get rid of the screen. I've lost mine and now won't go back.

You could try what I did and fit a pair of Caterham wind deflector's upside-down on the panel. Works a treat, costs about nothing and you can always put the screen back on in the winter. As for covering up the holes? Either change the panel or just leave the wipers in. And you get used to the wind (lost my baseball cap at about 125 ish on the mullsane straight,but kept the shades).

PS what do you think of the half doors ? I'm looking to get a set.

Hi Keith. What car do you end up getting then.

Go on get rid of the screen. I've lost mine and now won't go back.