Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Best first Caterham to buy with limited budget

Ed W

I intend to buy a Caterham, with a budget of around £12k. The question is which is the best engine / chassis combination?

I understand de-dion is more compliant than a live axle, which would be better on potholed country lanes in suffolk?

What is better a later classic (engine vx 1.6 or 1.4 K series) or an older de-dion with a more powerful engine (supersprint or 1.6 K series)?

Any advice would be appreciated.

• Replies 97
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Your budget should get quite a nice car if you look in the right places. I got my 1.6k ex academy for a little over 13k when it was 10 months old on ebay.

BTW please give generously to Bundle's Big Charity Walk for Asthma research here Ta.

Cheers

Tom

FH54WLX

see here - UPDATED again

If I was a novice and had to buy a Cat I'd go for a 1.8k. or a 2litre VauXhall engined car

You can never have enough power so I'd forget a smaller engined car. and especially a Xflow which came from the arc and is very thirsty on petrol.

If you can get a 1.8 or 2litre fuel injected car you're off to a good start, and you won't regret your decision to buy *thumbup*

Ed,

I live in Manningtree so not far from you *wavey*

My first 7 is an ex Academy 1.6 8v Vauxhall, five speed box and live axle. It does bounce around a bit on the local roads but I thought they all did that. I've used it in anger at RAF Woodbridge and its been great fun, sure it gets left behind at the top end but the live axle and hard tyres mean you can easily slide it.

I would probably want more power but then I would have spent a lot more in getting a car.

Mark

I got a 1997 1.6 superlight, primarily because you get the extra toys like 6 speed box and LSD (for donuts), haven't looked at prices so not sure if these have come down to your budget (kind of hoping for my sake they havent! *tongue*)