Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

x-flow harshness

lowlander

My 1600cc x-flow sounds harsh above 5500 rpm. I originally thought this was valve bounce but I've fitted stronger valves and it still sounds harsh. The engine is standard and runs on twin 40's (aaprox. 100 bhp). The engine pulls well and certainly wants to rev to 6000+rpm.

Any suggestions?

I thought it was value bounce as well. I still haven't got to the bottom of the problem. Mine sounds bloody dreadful above approx 5250 RPM. Like the whole engine is going to implode. I never take mine above 5250RPm as the engine will not rev any higher.

Going to have it tuned later this week. Hopefully this will help.

I will be interested to here anybody's comments on this.

Clive.

Crossflow - Loud and Proud!

Clive

The engine in my car certainly wants to rev higher. It will quite happily go to 6000+ but as you say it sounds really harsh above 5400 - 5500 rpm and as I have a certain degree of mechanical sympathy I don't tend to rev it that hard. Would be interested to hear of other peoples experience of standard crossflows.

Martin.

Clive,

Does the engine rev freely to 5250 rpm and then refuse to rev any higher or is it a case of the engine getting sluggish above say 4500rpm? Does the engine run O.K. at lower revs? (i.e. smooth with good throttle response). I'm assuming that you've checked things like the ignition timing, points (if you have them), plugs, leads, etc. Sounds a strange one to me. Is your x-flow standard or is it had a bit of tuning work done?

Martin.

On tuned BMC A series engines a different contact breaker set was available to stop the points bouncing at higher rpm. This just had a stronger spring to stop the heel of the contact breaker bouncing off the lobe of the distributor shaft.

It could be that some CB sets for X-flows are not as good as others and the ignition is breaking down at high revs.