Click here if you are having website access problems ×

VHPD Cooling system

wonderseven

I cannot get my new VHPD to pump water around the system. The car is fitted with a dry sump and heater. Coolant gets hot at the top of the rad/heater but the bottom remains cool. I am sure it is not air-locked as it was filled using the top heater hose. I've even tried jacking the car at different angles just in-case Any ideas?

Edited by - andy_m on 1 Jul 2000 06:14:50

Isn't that what is supposed to happen, hot at the top and cool at the bottom?

As I understand it the hot water from the engine is pumped into the top of the rad. and cools as it passes down through the core to flow back into the engine. As heat rises it would be ineffective to pump it the other way round.

to check if it's the thermostat, take it out (preferably with engine cold!,re-fit housing and start engine. if water flows ok then it was a sticking thermostat. i have no experience with this engine but if the thermostat is in-line with the top hose, then i would be surprised if it was sticking (or the top hose would remain cold)

Thermostat is fitted in line with the bottom hose. Stupid, thinking about it, as this is the last place to get hot!

On Caterhams advice I have run it several times allowing heat to "soak" through, and it seems to have done the trick. Anyone know what temp the VHPD is supposed to run at?

Andy, Can't say for sure what temp your eng. should run at but allowing for gauge error etc., the general area for the people I've had this conversation with is around the 80* mark. Anyone know better? Mine is this with a third of the rad. blanked off!

I had the same problem as Andy on my first Caterham (1.4K) where the gauge went up to 100 with no sign of any flow. 'Phoned Caterham who said that it might need to get quite hot and/or be cycled a few times to get the thermostat to do it's first opening - they were right.